Sweet and Tangy Marinade and Glaze

I know I just posted the pesto sauce blog, but right now is the only time I have available to update this bad boy. Plus Ben is playing video games, killing Aliens, no its not Halo…I’m not dumb. So last night, Friday night to be exact, I made a Sweet and Tangy Asian inspired dish. I actually got the recipe from how sweet it is. I found the blog on pinterest. The reason I am posting this again is because I ended up changing a couple ingredients, actually just two, the soy sauce and the brown sugar. Since Ben and I are doing the 60 day challenge, we cannot have soy or sugar, so I had to replace them with a soy sauce alternative and honey.

So originally the recipe is used for salmon, and we cooked it with salmon. BUT after smelling it and tasting it, OMG it could be used on ANYTHING, and I mean ANYTHING. I think it would be great for “Chinese Chicken”, cubed and breaded chicken breasts, baked and then tossed with the glaze. OMG, its THAT good. I already told Ben that will be on the menu for next week. MMmmMM.

Anyways, back to the salmon. Here are the ingredients I used. I will also list out the amounts that how sweet it is used.

Sweet and Tangy Salmon Marinade

  • Rice Vinegar: 2 tbls
  • Olive Oil: 1/4 cup
  • Liquid Amino’s (soy sauce alternative): 2tbls
  • Toasted Sesame Seed Oil: 2tbls
  • Honey (brown sugar alternative): 2tbls
  • Garlic: 2 pressed cloves
  • Fresh Ginger: 1tbls

Mix everything in a bowl until well blended. The smell of the sesame oil, ginger, and honey are to die for. So rich. Once everything is well mixed together throw the salmon in a ziplock bag and pour the marinade in there as well. Throw into the fridge for 30 minutes to get those flavors.

Raw Salmon

 

 

Grains of Salmon

I love the color, and the “grains” of the salmon. Beautiful.

 

 

Salmon in Merinade

Here is the salmon and marinade ready to go into the fridge. During this time I prepped some veggies. I had broccoli and baby carrots that I have yet used. I cut the baby carrots in half, length wise, and cut the broccoli into bite size. I threw them in a ziplock, add O.O (olive oil), salt and pepper. Shook it all up and then placed them out on a cookie sheet, 425 F in the oven for 25 minutes. I got the recipe from excellent-eats.

Once thirty minutes passed I pulled the salmon out, placed it on a cookie sheet and popped it into the oven on a high broil. Took about 15 minutes.

Salmon and Veggies in oven Broil

 

While the salmon was cooking, I made the glaze. I didn’t take a picture of all the ingredients because it was similar to the marinade.

  • Honey: 1/4 cup
  • Toasted Sesame Oil: 1 tsp
  • Liquid Amino’s: 1 tsp
  • Freshly Grated Ginger: 1/2 tsp
  • Toasted Sesame Seeds; 1/2 tsp (I added a little more, I love sesame seeds)

Mix everything in a bowl until it is all well blended…

Sweet and Tangy Salmon Glaze

TAA DAA!!

Once the salmon is done, pull that bad boy out of the oven and apply the glaze. Ben and I were so hungry and the smell was just so amazing that I didn’t get the chance to take a picture of the final product. MY BAD. I served it with a cabbage salad that was actually not a good choice for this meal.. again my bad, and then the roasted veggies. Ben loved it, we devoured it all.

I really think this marinade/ glaze can be applied to chicken, possibly shrimp, the glaze on a turkey burger and pineapple, grilled pineapple, chicken kabobs with veggies.. chicken chunks cubed with the marinade and then breaded with Almond Flour and baked. And then tossed with the glaze.. OMG right!! This duo has endless possibilities. I think this will be our go to summer love.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

